September 2020 Newsletter

Dear TBM Council Members,

It’s that time of year: back to school! And in that spirit, we have a lot of learning opportunities for you, plus new ways to engage and share what you know. We are a community of thought-leaders after all, and learning from each other is key.

TBM Conference Starts November 9

Sign-up to the TBM Conference 2020 today. TBM Conference has been named a global top tech conference by CIO Dive – and for good reason! This year, the conference will be virtually airing from November 9, with prices starting at just $99 to make it affordable for everyone. TBM Council members may use code MEMBER100 during registration to take $100 off of our Academic pass (regularly $495). According to CIO Dive, this is a must-attend conference for CIOs in 2020. Join us to learn why!

Past Conference attendees: post your favorite photos to Twitter or LinkedIn with the hashtag #TBMC20 and tag Apptio and TBM Council, in order to win a free TBMC21 ticket (for you or a colleague)!

TBM Tuesdays with Board Members Ralph Loura and Phil Armstrong

Be sure to join Ralph Loura (Lumentum) on September 8 for a discussion on using TBM to handle disruptions. Not only will we talk about dealing with the impact of COVID, we’ll discuss other inevitable disruptions that impact IT plans and strategies. Then, on September 23, we’ll talk to Phil Armstrong and his team members about how they’ve approached TBM at Great-West Lifeco.

And if you missed it, check out the recordings from our previous discussions with George Maddaloni (Mastercard), Amy Byalick (formerly PepsiCo and Amerisource Bergen), Greg Sly (Verizon), and Keith Barthelmeus (Brink’s). You can view the previous recordings here, and register for future events here.

Certified TBM Executive (CTBME) Training Discount

The TBM Council has trained thousands of professionals globally on the tenets of successful TBM programs, and more than 2,000 professionals have gotten certified.

What to join their ranks? We know budgets are tight, especially for training, so we’re providing a generous discount for those of you who attend the TBM Conference. Normally $1,190 for the 16-hour course and exam, the TBM Conference coupon pricing is just $595. The class can be taken between the TBM Conference and anytime through 2021. Register for the class and the conference here or add the class to your existing conference registration by clicking “already registered?” on the conference website, logging in, and modifying your registration.

Coming Soon: The New TBM Connect

We will soon be unveiling the new and improved TBM Connect that the team has been working so hard on. This is where we structure our communities and programs, communicate with you, our members, store and share documents and materials from events & presentations, and offer a place for you to find and engage with your peers. The new platform will allow for easier document and member search, provide new ways to connect with your peers, and help guide you to the information and conversations you are looking for. Please take a few minutes to complete our survey about TBM Connect. We value your input and want to make sure we are enabling you to get the most out of your membership.

Future of IT Through the Economic Disruption: Survey in Collaboration with Bain & Company

Bain & Company have partnered with the TBM Council and Apptio to conduct a brief, forward-looking study to understand how IT budgets, planning and other processes are adapting to the economic uncertainty. As an IT leader and member of the TBM Council, we need your input! Complete the survey here to receive exclusive access to initial results, the full database of anonymous raw data, 50% off any pass to TBM Conference 2020, and an invitation to a Bain & Company led session at the TBM Conference, delving deep into the survey results and insights.


In this newsletter, we would like to showcase the following events for the month of September:

Education

Date Event Title Time Price in USD Registration
September 14-17
Americas/Europe
TBM Executive Foundation Course and Certification Exam - Online 5am-9am PT | 8am-12pm ET
1pm-5pm BST | 2pm-6pm CEST
$1,190 Register here
September 28 – October 1
Americas/Europe
TBM Executive Foundation Course and Certification Exam - Online 8am-12pm PT | 11am-3pm ET
4pm-8pm BST | 5pm-9pm CEST
$1,190 Register here

Standards Committee and Workgroups

Date Event Title Time Price Registration
September 10
Americas/Europe
September 11
Asia/Australia
Standards Committee Webinar: TBM Taxonomy v4.0 Preview 8am-9:30am PT | 11am-12:30pm ET
4pm-5:30pm BST | 5pm-6:30pm CEST
and...
4pm-5:30pm PT | 7pm-8:30pm ET
7am-8:30am SGT/AWST | 8am-9:30am JST | 9am-10:30am AEST
Free Register here
September 17
Americas/Europe
September 18
Asia/Australia
Standards Committee Open Forum: Best Practices for Evolving Your TBM Model 8am-9:30am PT | 11am-12:30pm ET
4pm-5:30pm BST | 5pm-6:30pm CEST
and...
4pm-5:30pm PT | 7pm-8:30pm ET
7am-8:30am SGT/AWST | 8am-9:30am JST | 9am-10:30am AEST
Free Register here
September 21
Americas/Europe
September 22
Asia/Australia
Joint Workgroup Check-In Meeting 8am-9:30am PT | 11am-12:30pm ET
4pm-5:30pm BST | 5pm-6:30pm CEST
and...
4pm-5:30pm PT | 7pm-8:30pm ET
7am-8:30am SGT/AWST | 8am-9:30am JST | 9am-10:30am AEST
Free Workgroup Members, Register here
Various Individual Workgroup Meetings Various Free Workgroup members only
Register for a workgroup here to receive an invite

Board of Directors - TBM Tuesdays

Date Event Title Time Price Registration
September 8
Americas/Europe
On-Demand
Asia/Australia
Episode 5: Disruption Comes in Many Forms: Being Prepared with TBM
with Ralph Loura at Lumentum
8am-8:30am PT | 11am-11:30am ET
4pm-4:30pm BST | 5pm-5:30pm CEST
Free Register here
On-Demand Registration
September 22
Americas/Europe
On-Demand
Asia/Australia
Episode 6: Live Roundtable
with Phil Armstrong, EVP & Global CIO at Great-West LifeCo.
8am-9am PT | 11am-12pm ET
4pm-5pm BST | 5pm-6pm CEST
Free Register here
On-Demand Registration


As a reminder:



Best Wishes,


Jarod Greene,
General Manager
TBM Council